• 30 Years of Emerging Voices: Idea, Form, Resonance
    Anne Rieselbach
    Alan G. Brake, Henry Cobb, Rosalie Genevro, Reed Kroloff, Alexandra Lange, Paul Makovsky, Ashley Schafer, Karen Stein, Suzanne Stephens, Billie Tsien, and Thomas de Monchaux
    Princeton Architectural Press, 2015
    The Architectural League of New York

LOT-EK, APAP OPENSCHOOL, 2010, Anyang, Korea. Photo: Kim Myoung-Sik.

The Emerging Voices anniversary project documents and critically assesses the first three decades of the League's Emerging Voices program through a major publication, and engages the voices of past participants through digital programs and a series of discussions and lectures presented around the country. This juried series has consistently identified North American architects whose work has subsequently shaped the trajectory of the discipline. Since the program's inception, there have been significant changes in architectural practice and form, from postmodernism and deconstructivism in the 1980s, to experimentation with emerging digital technologies in the 1990s, to material exploration and hands-on design/build practices in recent years. Gathering this significant body of work together for the first time, the book and complementary intiatives will use the collection as a lens to interpret the historic and contemporary impact of this wide ranging and influential group on American architecture, landscape, and urban form.

30 Years of Emerging Voices: Idea, Form, Resonance is directed by Anne Rieselbach, who has overseen the Emerging Voices program since 1986. As the League's program director, Rieselbach is responsible for the Current Work lecture series, and for over twenty-five years has directed the Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers competition and its ensuing exhibitions, lectures, and publications, among other public programs. In the past year, she has lectured at the University of Michigan's College of Architecture and Planning and the Van Alen Institute, where she discussed thirty years of the League Prize and the evolution of the Young Architects series. She is on the advisory board of The Architect's Newspaper, was a juror for DesigNYC in 2011, and has served as a critic for final reviews at several universities.

Book essayist Ashley Schafer is an associate professor and architecture section head at Ohio State University's Knowlton School of Architecture. She is cofounder and coeditor of the journal PRAXIS: a journal of writing + building, which has established itself as a distinctive voice in international architectural culture and a forum that bridges the gap between theory and practice. Under her direction, the journal has received numerous awards and honors, including an I.D. award in 2003, and was twice awarded grants in design from the National Endowment for the Arts. A writer, designer, and practicing architect, Schafer has lectured and been published internationally. She holds a BS degree from the University of Virginia and an MArch from Columbia University's Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation.

Michael Bierut is a graphic designer, design critic, and educator and serves as supervisor of the design of the book and other graphic materials for the anniversary project. He is a partner in Pentagram in New York. A longtime member of the board of directors of the Architectural League, he has designed posters and other graphic materials for the Emerging Voices program since its inception. Bierut has won hundreds of design awards; his work is represented in the Museum of Modern Art, Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum, the Library of Congress, the Museum fur Kunst und Gewerbe in Hamburg, Germany, and many other collections.

Harry Cobb, advisory committee member, is a founding principal of Pei Cobb Freed & Partners. A fellow of the American Institute of Architects, Cobb has coupled his professional activity with teaching throughout his career, and has served as chairman of the Department of Architecture at the Harvard Graduate School of Design. Cobb has served on a number of occasions as a juror for the Emerging Voices program, as well as serving on award selection committees for the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and other institutions. He currently serves as president of the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

In over twenty-five years as executive director of the Architectural League, Rosalie Genevro has pursued the League's mission through consistent innovation in the content and format of live events, exhibitions, and publications. She has conceived and developed projects that have mobilized the expertise of the League's international network towards projects in the public interest, including Vacant Lots, New Schools for New York, the Productive Park, Envisioning East New York, and Arverne: Housing on the Edge. She has also initiated and directed major traveling exhibitions including Renzo Piano Building Workshop: Selected Projects, Ten Shades of Green, and Urban Life: Housing in the Contemporary City, in addition to originating the online projects Worldview Cities and Urban Omnibus.

Reed Kroloff, essay author, is the director of Cranbrook Academy of Art publication. Previously, he was dean of Tulane's School of Architecture, which he shepherded through Hurricane Katrina and its aftermath, founding URBANbuild, the subject of the award-winning television series Architecture School. Kroloff also cochaired the Urban Design committee of the mayor's Bring New Orleans Back commission. He arrived at Tulane after serving as editor-in-chief of Architecture magazine. A recipient of the Rome Prize, Kroloff is a principal at Jones/Kroloff, a design consultancy, and has served as an advisor to the U.S. General Services Administration, the Chicago Architecture Foundation, Public Architecture in San Francisco, and the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture.

Karen Stein, essay author, is a writer, editor and architectural consultant. From 1998 to 2007, Stein was editorial director of Phaidon Press, a leading publisher of books on architecture, art, design, and photography. Formerly, she was managing senior editor at Architectural Record. Stein is a member of the jury for the Pritzker Architecture Prize, cochair of the Architecture and Design Circle at the Museum of Modern Art, and an Architectural League board member.

The Architectural League, which was founded in 1881, nurtures excellence in architecture, design, and urbanism, and stimulates thinking and debate about the critical design and building issues of our time. As a vital, independent forum for architecture and its allied disciplines, the League helps create a more beautiful, vibrant, innovative, and sustainable future.